Two JCJC students awarded top PTK honors

Written By: Teresa Martin
Email Address:
Date Submitted: 2013-05-13 09:06:15

ELLISVILLE – Laurel’s Selah Weems was one of fifteen Community and Junior College students in the state who earned First Team honors on the 2013 All-Mississippi Academic Team. The highest scoring nominee from each of the fifteen Mississippi two-year colleges was named to the All-Mississippi First Team after several rounds of judging. Applications were evaluated by students’ academic achievement, leadership experiences and community service. The Jones County Junior College graduating sophomore took home a $1,000 scholarship and was featured in The Clarion-Ledger newspaper.

The child psychology major said of the honor, “All of the nominees were very deserving. Through this opportunity, I hope I made my college and family proud,” said Weems.

Hattiesburg’s Temple Hughs earned a spot on the Second Team of the All-Mississippi Academic Team and was also featured in the newspaper. All team members received special medallions, certificates, and printed resolutions from the Mississippi Senate and House of Representatives. The JCJC soccer captain and sports nutrition major said she was flattered by the academic honor as a student athlete.

This program was established by the Mississippi Association for Community and Junior Colleges, Mississippi Community College Board, and Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. The Clarion-Ledger was the first newspaper in the nation to support an All-State Academic Team program by providing a full page of coverage on the All-Mississippi Team members.

In March of 1994, Mississippi was the first state in the nation to launch an All-State Academic Team recognition program for community and junior college students. Today Phi Theta Kappa, community college presidents and community college state associations sponsor All-State Community College Academic Team ceremonies in 37 participating states. All-State Community College Academic Team recognition ceremonies vary, but are most often held in the state capital with legislators, education leaders and corporate leaders attending. All-State Community College Academic Team members receive special recognition at these ceremonies including medallions and certificates and may include scholarships.


More News