JCJC’s nontraditional student honor society inducts 24 members

Written By: Teresa Martin
Email Address: teresa.martin@jcjc.edu
Date Submitted: 2012-04-05 18:19:22

ELLISVILLE – Twenty-four Jones County Junior College nontraditional students were recently inducted into the premier national honor society for non-traditional students, Alpha Sigma Lambda (ASL). College sponsor of the honor society, Dr. Diane Williams also inducted an outstanding community leader and three members of the JCJC faculty and administration as honorary members of the honor society during the student induction ceremony. Honorary members, David Garner, JCJC Chairman of the Board of Trustees, JCJC alumnus and Raleigh attorney; Ed Smith, VP of JCJC Student Affairs; Andrew Sharp, Director of the JCJC Library and Student Success Center; and Teresa Robertson, JCJC Business and Office Technology instructor were selected for their support of the Nontraditional Student Success Center’s mission to serve this special segment of the student population. 
“We appreciate the support these four honorary members have provided to JCJC’s nontraditional students. These leaders are dedicated to all of our students and they are worthy of recognition,” said Williams.
To be considered for membership into the ASL honor society, students must have a minimum of 24 graded semester-hours, with 12 hours in liberal arts, as well as a minimum 3.5 GPA.  Williams explained the newest members are in the top 20 percent of the nontraditional student class. Membership in ASL also serves as a catalyst in continuing scholastic growth, building pride, and is an invitation to associate with similarly motivated students.
As a nontraditional student herself, Williams knows nontraditional students can achieve great things.I am so proud of these students. The smiles on their faces say it all,” said Williams. “Serving these students as the Director/Counselor of the Nontraditional Student Success Center has allowed me to build relationships and learn about the many obstacles and challenges they've overcome. Nonetheless, they have persevered and succeeded academically in addition to juggling family, community and work responsibilities.  They are my heroes. I applaud them for their academic achievement, persistence and perseverance. Nontraditional students are succeeding at Jones.”   
Keynote speaker and a new honorary member of ASL, David Garner challenged this group of twenty four students to continue succeeding. “You have what it takes to make this milestone. Be more committed to meet another one,” said Garner. “Your involvement can help bring solutions.”
JCJC sophomore, Antwain Perkins of Laurel, and a newly initiated member of both the nontraditional honor society and the ‘traditional’ students’ honor society, Phi Theta Kappa, shared getting a college education has shown him he can succeed. The chemical engineering major said he hopes to be able to inspire younger family members and his peers to choose the educational path to success he has pursued.
“You don’t have to rely on sports to succeed, and it doesn’t matter your color or struggle if you have hope,” said Antwain.   “I just remember the scripture, ‘I can do all things through Christ’ and I am determined to succeed and see my brothers, my sister, and nephews succeed too.”
Perkins has been so successful at Jones with scholarship offers from Ole Miss, American University, Kentucky, Texas Tech, Florida, and the University of Alabama. After graduating from Jones in August, he plans on staying close to home for a few reasons. 
“My plans include transferring to Ole Miss so I can be close to family and help motivate them,” said Perkins.
JCJC was the first junior/community college in Mississippi to establish a chapter of the nontraditional honor society, begin a Nontraditional Student Association, as well as a Nontraditional Student Success Center. Since 2009, 114 nontraditional scholars have been inducted into the JCJC chapter of ASL.  Previous honorary inductees include: Dr. Jesse Smith, Andy Dial, Dr. Shannon Campbell, Jim Kelly, Dr. Diane Williams, Senator Chris McDaniel, Mike Sowden, Mitch Stennett, Mayor Tim Waldrup, Jane Jones and Lisa Headrick.
ASL Inductees 2012
Rebecca Bennett, Petal – A.D. Nursing
Carrie Brown, Waynesboro – A.D. Nursing
Winona Coaker, Fruitdale, AL – General Studies
Kristen Collier, Laurel – Child Development Technology
Maurice Davis, Ovett – General Studies
Savannah Davis, Stringer – Psychology
Whitney Dungan, Collins – Accounting
Tia Garcia, Picayune – General Studies
Connie Graham, Ellisville – Science Education
Joannie Harrell, Seminary – Elementary Education
Haley James, Ellisville – Business Administration
Mallory James, Laurel – International Business
Allison Jones, Taylorsville – Elementary Education
Melanie Jones, Laurel – LPN
Kinsley Kirkland, Ellisville – General Studies
Ester Lyon, Ellisville – Elementary Education
Tracy Odom, Bassfield – General Studies
Antwain Perkins, Laurel – General Studies
Penny Ramshur, Bay Springs – General Studies
Heather Ray, Laurel – A.D. Nursing
James Roberts, Hattiesburg – General Studies
Timothy Seales, Hattiesburg – Accounting
Cheryl Stringer, Prentiss – Accounting
Catherine Waters, Heidelberg – Business and Office Medical Technology


More News