MAC honors three JCJC head coaches

Written By: Shawn Wansley
Email Address:
Date Submitted: 2011-06-27 14:23:43

 JACKSON – Three Jones County Junior College head coaches were honored during the Mississippi Association of Coaches (MAC) Hall of Fame Banquet and Awards Ceremony here Friday night at the Hilton Hotel.

Lady Bobcat soccer coach Dolores Deasley, JCJC men’s tennis coach Mark Easley and Bobcat baseball coach Christian Ostrander were all named MAC Coach of the Year for their respective sports for the past school year.

Deasley guided the Lady Bobcats to a 15-3-1 record in 2010, which included a first-ever MACJC and Region 23 championship. JCJC advanced to the finals of the NJCAA District E Tournament in Tyler, Texas, where they fell to homestanding and then top-ranked Tyler Junior College.

The Lady Bobcats also captured the MACJC South Division title, which allowed them to host the 2010 State Tournament on Oct. 23-24 at the Bobcat Soccer Field. JCJC defeated Itawamba Community College 1-0 in the semifinals and Hinds Community College 1-0 in overtime for the championship.

JCJC then beat Meridian Community College 1-0 for the regional title on Oct. 29 at Hinds Community College in Raymond.

The 15 wins was a school record for victories. Deasley, who served as an assistant coach in 2007, owns a 33-14-1 record at JCJC. She was named the MACJC and Region 23 Women’s Soccer Coach of the Year for 2010.

Easley led the men’s team to a second-place finish in the MACJC State Tournament, a third-place finish in the Region 23 Tournament and a No. 16 ranking in the NJCAA Tournament in Plano, Texas. It was JCJC’s first trip to the men’s nationals in four years.

The Bobcat men posted a 10-3 regular season record and claimed three titles at the state tournament in Clinton in May – Nick Williams won No. 2 singles, Cade Sherman won No. 3 singles and Williams teamed with Armand Deniakos to win No. 2 doubles.

Easley has coach the Bobcat tennis teams for 12 seasons. He was the MACJC Women’s Coach of the Year in both 2009 and 2010 and he was named the MACJC Men’s Coach of the Year in 2008. He was also named the MAC Coach of the Year in 2008.

Ostrander guided the Bobcats to unchartered territory in 2011, leading the team to the school’s first-ever appearance in the NJCAA Division II World Series in Enid, Okla.

JCJC ended the season at 46-17 and finished second in the World Series. They captured their first Region 23 championship, their fourth state championship and second consecutive MACJC South Division crown.

In his three years as head coach at JCJC, Ostrander has compiled a 120-45 record.

He was named the MACJC and Region 23 Coach of the Year this past season.


The five inductees into the 2011 MAC Hall of Fame were Neil Hitchcock, D.M. Howie, Lucy Seaberry, Cary Shepherd and Shelby Watts.


More News