L.D. Ready inducted into MACJC Sports Hall of Fame

Written By: Shawn Wansley
Email Address: shawn.wansley@jcjc.eduu
Date Submitted: 2011-04-27 10:37:42

 JACKSON – L.D. Ready, who was a standout basketball and tennis player at Jones County Junior College from 1951-53, was inducted into the MACJC Sports Hall of Fame here Tuesday night in a ceremony at the Hilton Hotel.

Ready becomes JCJC’s eighth inductee into the elite group.

He joins Sim Cooley, Joe Flowers and A.B. Howard (Class of 2007); Randall Boone and John Perkins (Class of 2008); Gene Tullos (Class of 2009); and Gwen Magee (Class of 2010) in the MACJC Sports Hall of Fame.

Ready starred for Coach Howard’s basketball team and Coach Troy Bush’s tennis team at JCJC.

In 1953, he received numerous school honors at JCJC, including Sophomore Class President, Homecoming King, Mr. JCJC, Most Athletic and Most Friendly. He received a basketball scholarship to Delta State University and also ran track at DSU in 1953-54 and 1954-55. He was elected Most Handsome at Delta State in 1955.

He then served as head basketball coach at Richton High School from 1955-90. He organized and started the Richton Rotary Club’s Basketball Tournament in 1956. The tournament is still being played and is held during the first week of December.

Ready was voted conference Coach of the Year in 1966, 1967, 1981, 1983, 1985 and 1988 and was chosen the Hattiesburg American’s All-Area Coach of the Year in 1986-87.

After retiring as head coach, the high school gym at Richton was named the “L.D. Ready Gymnasium” in his honor.

Other inductees in the Class of 2011 are: Audrey Williams (Coahoma); Bob Ricketts (Copiah-Lincoln); Dr. Clyde Muse (East Central); Joe Rowell (East Mississippi); Homer Boyd (Hinds): Faye Graham Dillard (Holmes); Roy Cresap (Itawamba); Corky Palmer (Meridian); Benton White (Mississippi Delta); Barbara Ann “Sue” Ross (Mississippi Gulf Coast); Kunshinge Sorrell Howard (Northeast Mississippi); Don Randolph (Northwest Mississippi); Bobby Weaver (Pearl River); and Jerry Reid (Southwest Mississippi).

Dr. Muse, who is the president of Hinds Community College, represented this year’s inductees and addressed the audience.

Former Southern Miss and Co-Lin basketball coach M.K. Turk was elected President of the Hall of Fame, replacing longtime MGCCC football coach George Sekul.

Bill Snyder, MGCCC Public Relations Director, served as the event’s Master of Ceremonies.


More News