Bobcat players, coaches chosen for MACJC All-Star basketball games

Written By: Shawn Wansley
Email Address:
Date Submitted: 2011-03-10 15:11:46

 The state’s top sophomore JUCO basketball players will have an opportunity to showcase their talents when the annual MACJC All-Star Basketball Games are held Monday, March 28, 2011, at East Central Community College in Decatur.


Women’s action begins at 5 p.m. and will be followed by the men’s contest at 7 p.m. in the Brackeen-Wood Physical Education Building.


Admission is $5 per person.


Named to the South Division All-Star women’s squad are Kenyatta Epps, Pearl River; Kierra Addison and Brittany Patterson, both of Southwest; Tanecka Carey and Kianna Harris, both of Jones County; Deonica McCormick, Gulf Coast; Brandi Simmons, Kiara Etienne, G. G. Williams and Sedreka Plummer, all of Copiah-Lincoln; Shanequa Bufkin, East Central; and LaShondra Dunson, Hinds.


Sandra Sumrall of Jones County will serve as head coach.


North Division women All-Stars are Autumn Jones, Delta; Ebony Williams, Anna Hill and Mandy Collins, all of Itawamba; Tia Nunnally and Malea Malone, both of Coahoma; Amber Johnson, Northeast; Jamie Gunter and RoTasha Windom, both of East Mississippi; Lanita Futrell, Northwest; Tiffany Williams and Marquisha Pointer, both of Holmes.


Ron Aldy of Holmes will serve as head coach.


Selected on the South Division men’s All-Star team are P. J. McCray, Southwest; Erik Burks and Derek Burks, both of Hinds; Phillip Crawford and Pedro Maciel, both of Pearl River; Brandon Givens and Derrious Gilmore, both of Jones County; Kenneth Barlow and Keondre Hodges, both of East Central; Raymond Cintron and Marlon Williams, both of Gulf Coast; and Marcus Hooten, Copiah-Lincoln.


Bubba Skelton of Jones County will serve as head coach.


North Division men All-Stars are Reggie Fondren and Akeem Anderson, both of Northwest; Jestonia Kimber and Jarvis Moore, both of Delta; Jonathan King and Deonte Alexander, both of East Mississippi; Wendell Williams and Melvin Morgan, both of Itawamba; Jeff Stubbs and Curtis Bailey, both of Holmes; Tony Payne, Coahoma; and Tyler  Pritchard, Northeast.


Jason Flanigan of Holmes will serve as head coach.

For more information, contact Bill Smith, ECCC women’s head basketball coach, 601-635-2111 or call toll free, 877-462-3222, ext. 243. His e-mail address is


More News