JCJC hosts MCTM Jr. H.S. Math Contest

Written By: Teresa Martin
Email Address: teresa.martin@jcjc.edu
Date Submitted: 2011-03-08 15:52:07

ELLISVILLE - Jones County Junior College’s Math department along with the Mississippi Council of Teachers of Mathematics recently sponsored the district level MCTM Math Contest for Jr. High School students.  About 50 students spent the morning working out various math problems to earn a spot at the state competition April 2, 2011 at Mississippi College. 
Seventh graders Paul Sullivan of Taylorsville won first place and Bryce Murphy of Stringer won second place. Eighth graders from Meridian, Terry Furline won first place and Katey Grisham won second place.
Picture Cutline winners left to right: JCJC sponsored the Mississippi Council of Teachers of Mathematics district Jr. High School Math contest. Winners pictured left to right include: JCJC math instructor, Angela Cooley, 8th grade 1st place winner Terry Furline-Meridian, 8th grade 2nd place winner Katey Grisham-Clarkdale, 7th grade 1st place winner Paul Sullivan of Taylorsville, 7th grade 2nd place winner Bryce Murphy of Stringer and JCJC math instructor, Tim Rayner.


More News