Bobcats, Smith lead Co-Lin Invitational

Written By: Shawn Wansley
Email Address:
Date Submitted: 2011-03-06 20:51:17

 WESSON – Sunday was an excellent day on the golf course for the Jones County Junior College golf team.

Playing here at Wolf Hollow Golf Club, the Bobcats fired a team score of 306, which puts them in first place after the opening round of the Co-Lin Community College Invitational.

The Bobcats hold a nine-shot lead over Co-Lin and East Mississippi. The Wolves and Lions both posted a 315 in the first round.

JCJC’s Mitchell Smith, a sophomore from Simpson Academy, leads the tournament after shooting a 1-over par 73. That is one shot better than Jared Smith of Mississippi Gulf Coast and Ryan Williams of Northwest Mississippi, both of whom shot 74.

West Jones freshman Ryan Blackwell had a 76, which puts him in fourth place. Bobcat Logan Parish shot a 78, which ties him for ninth place. Long Beach sophomore Andrew McMahan had a 79 for the Bobcats, while Northeast Jones freshman Markas Holifield posted an 80. Playing as individuals for JCJC, McNeil freshman Braxton Spiers had an 84 and Northeast Jones freshman Jared Hodge shot a 92.

The final round of the tournament will be held on Monday at Brookhaven Country Club. There will be a 9 a.m. shotgun start.



1. Mitchell Smith, JCJC                         73

2. Jared Smith, Miss. Gulf Coast            74

2. Ryan Williams, Northwest            74

4. Ryan Blackwell, JCJC                        76

5. Michael Maley, Miss. Gulf Coast            77

5. Ian McAdams, East Miss.                        77

5. Bennett Ruschewski, Co-Lin            77

5. Luke Cosby, Hinds                                    77

9. Logan Parish, JCJC                                    78

9. Trey Maddox, Northeast                        78



1. Jones County                        306

2. East Mississippi                        315

2. Co-Lin                                    315

4. Northwest Miss.                        317

5. Miss. Gulf Coast                        320

6. Hinds                                    323

7. Northeast                                    331

8. East Central                        334

9. Itawamba                                    341

10. Holmes                                    347                        


More News