JCJC's Carey, Givens named All-Region 23, All-MACJC

Written By: Shawn Wansley
Email Address: shawn.wansley@jcjc.edu
Date Submitted: 2011-03-04 18:45:36

 By Shawn Wansley

JCJC Sports Information Director

ELLISVILLE – Tanecka Carey and Brandon Givens enjoyed outstanding seasons on the basketball court this year for Jones County Junior College.

And on Friday, they were rewarded for their solid play.

Carey was named to the All-Region 23 and All-MACJC South Division first-team women’s squad and Givens received All-Region 23 and All-MACJC South Division first-team honors for the men.

Bobcat Derrious Gilmore was named to the men’s All-MACJC second-team.

Carey, a 5-foot-9 sophomore guard from Jackson Murrah, was the leading scorer in the state and is currently the second leading scorer in the nation. She averaged 24.9 points per game for head coach Sandra Sumrall’s Lady Bobcats.

Carey also averaged 8.9 rebounds, 4.7 assists, and 2.6 steals per game. She shot 51.6 percent from the field and made 95-of-185 3-point shots for 51.3 percent. She also shot 79.2 percent from the free throw line.

Carey scored a school-record 53 points in the Lady Bobcats’ 90-80 upset of eventual state and Region 23 champion Co-Lin on Feb. 17 at A.B. Howard Gymnasium.

The Southern Miss signee was also named the NJCAA Women’s Division I Player of the Week on two occasions this year – the weeks of Jan. 15 and Feb. 19.

Carey helped the Lady Bobcats to a 19-8 record, a runnerup finish in the MACJC Tournament and a berth in the Region 23 Tournament.

Givens, a 6-foot-6 sophomore forward from Ruffin, S.C., was also the leading scorer in the state and the third-leading scorer in the nation with a 23.8 points per game average. He averaged 8.3 rebounds per game and shot 54.8 percent from the field. He was also 38-of-83 from 3-point range for 45.8 percent and hit 76.2 percent from foul line.

Givens scored 44 points to lead JCJC to a 90-86 upset of then-8th-ranked Pearl River in Poplarville on Feb. 10. He was named the NJCAA Men’s Division I Player of the Week for the week of Feb. 12.

Givens played football and basketball at Colleton High School in Walterboro, S.C., and then attended and graduated from Princeton Day Academy in Baltimore, Md. He transferred to JCJC from College of Southern Idaho.

Gilmore is a 5-foot-9 sophomore guard from Lake Clifton High School in Baltimore, Md. He averaged 12.3 points, 6.2 assists and 1.8 steals per game. He was 46-of-103 from the 3-point line for 44.7 percent. Gilmore transferred to JCJC from Pensacola Junior College (Fla.).

Givens and Gilmore helped head coach Don “Bubba” Skelton’s Bobcats to a 15-10 record and berths in the MACJC and Region 23 Tournaments.

Co-Lin head coach Gwyn Young was named the MACJC Women’s Coach of the Year for leading the Lady Wolves to the state championship and the regional title. Co-Lin won the Region 23 Tournament with an 89-54 victory over Meridian Community College on Thursday at Mississippi College. They will now compete in the NJCAA Women’s Division I Tournament March 19-24 in Salina, Kan.

East Mississippi head coach Mark White was named the MACJC and Region 23 Men’s Coach of the Year. White guided the Lions to the regional championship with a 71-67 victory over Southern University-Shreveport (La.) on Thursday. EMCC will now participate in the NJCAA Men’s Division I Tournament March 19-24 in Hutchinson, Kan.




Tanecka Carey, Jones; Kiara Etienne, Co-Lin; Brandi Simmons, Co-Lin; Norianna Haynes, Meridian; Deonica McCormick, Miss. Gulf Coast; Chadisty Hickman, East Mississippi; Jamonica Orton, East Central; Anna Brooke Page, Northeast; Naketa Roberts, Baton Rouge CC (La.); Jameika Hoskins, Itawamba; Chasity Kearney, Meridian.


Raymond Cintron, Miss. Gulf Coast; Marcus Hooten, Co-Lin; Deonte Alexander, East Mississippi; Emil Jones, Pearl River; Brandon Givens, Jones; Melvin Morgan, Itawamba; Kenneth Barlow, East Central; Jonathan King, East Mississippi; Tyler Pritchard, Northeast; Phillip Crawford, Pearl River.

Coach of the Year: Mark White, East Mississippi.





Tanecka Carey, Jones; Kiara Etienne, Co-Lin; Deonica McCormick, Miss. Gulf Coast; Brandi Simmons, Co-Lin; Jamonica Orton, East Central.


Kierra Addison, Southwest; Kenyatta Epps, Pearl River; Kenya Wright, Hinds; Brianna Blunt, Miss. Gulf Coast; Paige Webster, Co-Lin.

Coach of the Year: Gwyn Young, Co-Lin




Raymond Cintron, Miss. Gulf Coast; Brandon Givens, Jones; Emil Jones, Pearl River; Phillip Crawford, Pearl River; Marcus Hooten, Co-Lin.


Kenneth Barlow, East Central; Eric Burks, Hinds; Asortse Ice, Miss. Gulf Coast; Derrious Gilmore, Jones; Cory Lacy, Southwest.





Kierra Gilmore, Holmes; Chadisty Hickman, East Mississippi; Lanitra Futrell, Northwest; Tia Nunnally, Coahoma; Anna Dill, Itawamba.


Anna Brooke Page, Northeast; Louise Collins, Holmes; Kiara Quinones-Noa, East Mississippi; Dequashi Simpson, Northwest; Erin Strowder, Northeast.




Deonte Alexander, East Mississippi; Melvin Morgan, Itawamba; Tyler Pritchard, Northeast; Jestonia Kimber, Miss. Delta; A.J. Cunningham, Northwest.


Jonathan King, East Mississippi; Tony Payne, Coahoma; Curtis Bailey, Holmes; Michael Willis, Miss. Delta; Anthony Borden, Holmes.


More News