WDAM announces 25th annual All-Area Football Team

Written By: Shawn Wansley
Email Address: shawn.wansley@jcjc.edu
Date Submitted: 2010-12-06 17:50:51

 By Shawn Wansley

JCJC Sports Information Director

ELLISVILLE – The Silver Anniversary edition of the WDAM/Hair World of Laurel All-Area Football Team was announced here Monday afternoon during a banquet on the campus of Jones County Junior College.

And the 25th annual team ranks right up at the top with the most talented squads since the selections began.

“We have 72 players on this year’s team and six of them will be playing in the Alabama/Mississippi All-Star Game in Mobile this weekend,” said WDAM Sports Director Mitch Williams. “High school football is so big now. When we did our first All-Area team we had 21 players and only one D-I player and that was John Mangum. Last year, we had 11 players off the team that went D-I.

“It just gets better and better and we’ve got a great junior class represented this year, as well.”

Heading this year’s team is the All-Area Player of the Year – Petal standout Anthony Alford. Alford, just a junior and regarded as one of the state’s top baseball prospects, passed for 1,400 yards and 16 touchdowns, while rushing for 1,253 yards and 19 touchdowns in leading the Panthers to the Region 4-6A championship.

The Co-Offensive Players of the Year are West Jones quarterback Ben Stevens and Mt. Olive quarterback Rueben Duckworth.

Stevens was 204-of-336 through the air for 2,594 yards, 28 touchdowns and just five interceptions, while leading his Mustangs to an unbeaten regular season and a berth in the South State Class 5A championship game.

Duckworth rushed 236 times for 2,715 yards and 37 touchdowns in leading the Pirates to their second straight Overall Class 1A state championship. He also passed for five scores.

The Defensive Player of the Year was Wilber Myers Jr. of Bassfield. The defensive back had two forced fumbles, seven interceptions and 91 total tackles.

The Leslie Peters Coach of the Year Award went to Brad Duncan of West Marion. He led the Trojans to an 8-4 record this year, the area’s biggest turnaround after winning just two games in each of the previous three seasons.

Lumberton head coach Brian Ford and Mt. Olive head coach Perry Murphy were recognized for leading their teams to the Overall Class 2A and 1A championships, respectively, this year.

The six All-Area standouts selected to the team who will be playing in Saturday’s Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Game are Stevens and athlete Devontay Barnett of West Jones, Duckworth of Mt. Olive, running back Marino Daggans of Bassfield, defensive lineman Justin Booth of Taylorsville and defensive back Darian Arrington of Stone County.

Eight players on the All-Area Team will play for the South team in the annual Bernard Blackwell All-Star Football Classic at noon on Dec. 18 at Greyhound Stadium in Ocean Springs.

Those players are athlete Darius Holder of Lumberton, offensive lineman Cody Conkle of Petal, athlete Terrison Dantzler of Purvis, linebacker Marcus Mayers and defensive back Deon Fairley of Taylorsville and defensive back Donte Moncrief, defensive lineman Woodrow Hamilton and defensive end Jraven Tribble of Raleigh.

Monday’s luncheon was held in the banquet area of JCJC’s C.L. Neill Student Center.

Williams, who emceed the event with the assistance of WDAM sportscaster Heather Kirksey, noted the longtime relationship WDAM has had with JCJC in honoring local student-athletes.

“We want to say ‘thank you’ to Jones for your help in supporting us these first 25 years,” he said. “We hope there are 25 more.”

Williams also praised the help of Richard Brown of Hair World of Laurel. Hair World of Laurel sponsors the All-Area Team and the WDAM Prep Player of the Week during the season.


2010 WDAM Hair World of Laurel

All-Area Football Team


Ben Stevens, West Jones; Anthony Alford, Petal; Clint Hatten, Stone County; Dontrell Pruitt, Laurel.


Cody Prewitt, Sylva-Bay Academy; Xavier Grindle, East Marion; Markeyus Johnson, Forrest County AHS; Maverick Parsons, Petal; Adrian Bradley, George County


Blake Graves, Presbyterian Christian School; Tim Feazell, Mt. Olive; Tim Sullivan, Wayne Academy


Taylor Higgason, Petal; Xavier Hilton, West Jones; D.J. Robinson, West Jones; Dylan Fedora, Oak Grove; Shaun Jones, North Forrest; Larry Copeland, Bassfield; Gus Walley, Greene County; Justin Mack, Laurel; Martez Nixon, Taylorsville; Jarvis Loper, Wayne County


Greg Amacker, Stone County; Hunter Hawkins, Presbyterian Christian School; Felton Collins, Laurel; Dominique Tovell, Columbia


Wesley Carter, Purvis; Tanner Phillips, Petal; Cody Conkle, Petal; Tony Holmes, Oak Grove; Ross Sullivan, Mize; Cameron McLeod, Greene County


Charles Goins, Lumberton; E.J. Pearson, Forrest County AHS; Demetrius Hubbard, West Marion; Jraven Tribble, Raleigh


Fredrick Moore, Heidelberg; Woodrow Hamilton, Raleigh; Justin Booth, Taylorsville; Trevor Watkins, Sylva-Bay Academy


Marcus Mayers, Taylorsville; Andrew Little, Richton; Jamal McGowan, Collins; Kelly Knight, South Jones; Dylan Davis, George County; Nate Cran, Wayne County; Shaquille White, Perry Central; Alvin Smith, Wayne County


Wilber Myers, Jr., Bassfield; Trevonte Fenton, Oak Grove; Darian Arrington, Stone County; Josh Keys, Seminary; Marino Daggan, Bassfield; Leander Cooley, Hattiesburg; Addarius Perkins, Forrest County AHS; Donte Moncrief, Raleigh; Anthony McGilberry, Laurel; Deon Fairley, Taylorsville


Evan Sobiesk, Oak Grove; Mark Moore, Hattiesburg; Brad Drummond, Sumrall; Skylar Pruneau, Heidelberg Academy; Corben Taylor, Purvis


Devontay Barnett, West Jones; Rueben Duckworth, Mt. Olive; Terrison Dantzler, Purvis; Fernando Hamilton, Taylorsville; Jordan Woods, Oak Grove; Zac Jackson, Heidelberg; Darius Holder, Lumberton; Bruce Greer, Perry Central; Cade Martin, Presbyterian Christian School


Anthony Alford, Petal


Ben Stevens, West Jones; Rueben Duckworth, Mt. Olive


Wilber Myers, Jr., Bassfield


Brad Duncan, West Marion

Special Recognition of State Champion Coaches

Brian Ford, Lumberton; Perry Murphy, Mt. Olive


More News