JCJC's Toney receives honors at MACJC All-Star Football Classic

Written By: Shawn Wansley
Email Address: shawn.wansley@jcjc.edu
Date Submitted: 2010-12-05 11:02:09

 BOONEVILLE – Jones County Junior College quarterback Tromarcus Toney was named the South’s Offensive Most Valuable Player and the winner of the Keith Daniels Memorial Trophy at the 37th annual MACJC All-Star Classic here Saturday afternoon at Tiger Stadium on the campus of Northeast Mississippi Community College.

The North ended up winning the game, scoring all of its points in the second half, en route to a 16-0 victory over the South. Toney completed 9-of-17 passes for 119 yards.

JCJC head coach Eddie Pierce and his assistants – Steve Boyd, Ron Brewer, Brad Griffin and Anthony Maddox – served as the South coaching staff.

Northwest’s Brandon Lawrence scored on a 25-yard interception return with 13:03 left in the third quarter for the game’s first points. Kevin Buford added the extra point to give the North a 7-0 lead.

Buford booted a 31-yard field goal with 4:00 left in the game to make it 10-0. Coahoma quarterback Garrick Jones connected with CCC teammate Hollis Moore for a 10-yard touchdown pass with 2:41 remaining to close the scoring.

Moore had four receptions for 45 yards and was named the game’s Most Valuable Player and received the James H. “Wookie” Gray Memorial Trophy.

Pearl River’s Jarvis McCann was named the South’s Defensive Most Valuable Player.

For the North, East Mississippi quarterback Brad Henderson was named the North’s Offensive Most Valuable Player and received the Hubert Tucker Memorial Trophy. Northwest’s Ranaldo Buck was named the North’s Defensive Most Valuable Player.

The North leads the series 18-17-2.

Game information provided by Joseph Miller of the Northeast Mississippi Community College Office of Public Information.


More News