Eight Bobcats chosen for MACJC All-Star Football Classic

Written By: Shawn Wansley
Email Address: shawn.wansley@jcjc.edu
Date Submitted: 2010-12-01 10:46:08

 ELLISVILLE – The 37th annual MACJC All-Star Football Classic will have a definite Jones County Junior College flavor.

JCJC head coach Eddie Pierce and his assistants will serve as the South coaching staff for the game, while Itawamba Community College head coach Jon Williams and his staff will guide the North.

There will also be eight Bobcats featured in the game, including defensive backs Cory Cooley and Roderick McCullum of West Jones, wide receivers Kylan Pollard of Laurel and Rashad Wynes of Macon, Ga., defensive linemen Mario Owens of Collins and Joshua Herring of Bay Springs, linebacker Santonio Jones of Heidelberg and offensive lineman Eric Thurman of Raleigh.

Saturday’s game will be played at Keenum Stadium on the campus of Northeast Mississippi Community College in Booneville. Kickoff is 1 p.m.

There are 33 players on each team with a minimum of three players per each of the 14 schools in the MACJC. Only Mississippi Gulf Coast is not represented in the game. The state champion Bulldogs are facing Grand Rapids (Mich.) in the third annual Mississippi Bowl in Biloxi on Sunday.

Fans can listen to the MACJC-All Star Classic at http://www.teamline.cc/teampage?teamcode=1452.

The series is currently tied at 17-17-2.



Jones – DB Roderick McCullum, DB Cory Cooley, WR Kylan Pollard, WR Rashad Wynes, DL Mario Owens, DL Joshua Herring, LB Santonio Jones, OL Eric Thurman

Co-Lin – WR Michael Berry, DL Jason Catchings, DL Roland Dampeer, OL Keith Dee, DB Terrence Greene

East Central – OL Lester Jackson, WR Fabian Johnson, WR Radarius Owens

Hinds – Dylan Davis, RB Michael Dunlaney, LB Maxie Graham, OL Fred Smith, WR Cordell Valentine

Pearl River – OL Zac Blackwell, PK Travis Bradley, DL Joel Clems, DB Delvin Ervin, OL Colin Johnson, LB Jarvis McCann

Southwest – RB Tray Bateaste, OL Zach Kellem, LB Cornelius Lee, QB Mardavian Martin, OL Monterrio Taylor, DL Jermaine Turner



Coahoma – OL Maurice Brooks, DB Charles Harris, DL Ceasare Johnson, QB Garrick Jones, WR Holis Moore, OL Antrale Newsome

East Mississippi – RB Floyd Graves, QB Brad Henderson, DB Kelvin Roberts, LB Jimmy Roby, DL Cleveland Shelton, DB Deangelo White

Holmes – LB Drew Dennis, ATH Harry Peoples, DL Tanner Robertson

Itawamba – DL Xavian Evans, WR William Green, WR D’Angelo Henry, OL Justin Moss, OL Rickey Nelson, LS Mason Welch

Mississippi Delta – WR Labrodrick Barrett, OL Tommy Buford, OL Will Kent, DL Tevin Wells

Northeast Mississippi – RB Jaquise Cook, LB Trey Pegues, DB Steve Smith, TE Coody Woodiel

Northwest Mississippi – PK Kevin Buford, DB Brandon Lawrence, DL Jamontay Pilson, LB Sam Small


More News