JCJC's Robinson named MACJC South Division's top defensive lineman

Written By: Shawn Wansley
Email Address: shawn.wansley@jcjc.edu
Date Submitted: 2010-12-01 08:44:41

 By Shawn Wansley

JCJC Sports Information Director

ELLISVILLE – A Jones County Junior College football player has received one of the MACJC’s top postseason honors.

Bobcat defensive end Ryan Robinson, a 6-foot-5, 255-pound sophomore from Buford, Ga., has been named the South Division’s Most Valuable Defensive Lineman in a vote by the league’s coaches. Robinson, who prepped at Mill Creek High School, has committed to Oklahoma State University. Robinson was also named as a first-team All-MACJC South Division and All-Region 23 performer.

JCJC’s Jeremy Pierce, a 6-foot-5, 320-pound sophomore offensive lineman from Heidelberg, was also a first-team All-MACJC South Division and Region 23 selection.

Being named as second-team All-MACJC South Division performers from JCJC were wide receiver Deuce Coon, offensive lineman Brandon Bender and defensive backs Cory Cooley and Antonio Parker.

Coon is a 5-foot-11, 190-pound freshman from Redemptorist High School in Baton Rouge, La., while Bender is a 6-foot-2, 300-pound sophomore from Laurel. Cooley is a 6-foot-1, 200-pound sophomore from West Jones, while Parker is a 5-foot-11, 185-pound freshman from Destrehan High School in New Orleans, La.


All-MACJC South Division


First Team

WR – Javon Bell, Gulf Coast; Fred Fuller, Co-Lin

OL – Jeremy Pierce, Jones; Jeremy Graffree, Gulf Coast; Andy Nations, Gulf Coast; Danny Bunch, Hinds; Larry Banks, Co-Lin

QB – Melvin German, Pearl River

RB – Matthew Willis, Hinds; Mardavian Martin, Southwest

WR – Radarius Owens, East Central; Steve McNair, Jr., Pearl River

Return Specialist – Fred Fuller, Co-Lin

Punter – Will Scott, Gulf Coast

Placekicker – Travis Bradley, Pearl River

MVP Back – Melvin German, Pearl River

MVP OL – Jeremy Graffree, Gulf Coast



First Team

DL – Ryan Robinson, Jones; John Jenkins, Gulf Coast; Marty Stadom, Southwest; Leon Mackey, Hinds

LB – Chris Ficklin, East Central; Maxey Graham, Hinds; Jordan Hunt, Co-Lin

DB – J.D. Ratliff, Southwest; Wesley Pendleton, Co-Lin; Marcus Jemison, Pearl River; Alonzo Lawrence

MVP DB – Wesley Pendleton, Co-Lin

MVP DL – Ryan Robinson, Jones  



Second Team

WR – Deuce Coon, Jones; Dylan Davis, Hinds; Cordell Valentine, Hinds

OL – Jewel Christian, Southwest; Monterrio Taylor, Southwest; Brandon Bender, Jones; Oscar Johnson, Co-Lin; Andrew Phillips, Pearl River

QB – Anthony Sheppard, Hinds

RB – Trey Bateaste, Southwest; James Gillum, Gulf Coast

Return Specialist – Jeremy Palmer, Hinds

Punter – Craig McCraney, Hinds

Placekicker – Kyle Williamson, Hinds



Second Team

DL – Roland Dampeer, Co-Lin; Jason Catchings, Co-Lin; Khalid Wilson, East Central; Daniel Hayden, Pearl River

LB – Quanthony Fletcher, Pearl River; Cornelius Lee, Southwest; Will Copeland, Gulf Coast

DB – Gabe Loper, East Central; Cory Cooley, Jones; Antonio Parker, Jones; Denhendret Collins, Co-Lin



All-Region 23


WR – Javon Bell, Gulf Coast; Steve McNair, Jr., Pearl River; Josh Jarboe, Northeast; Myles White, Northwest

OL – Jeremy Graffree, Gulf Coast; Antonio Foster, Northeast; Andy Nations, Gulf Coast; Larry Banks, Co-Lin; Jeremy Pierce, Jones

QB – Melvin German, Pearl River; Brad Henderson, East Mississippi

RB – Matthew Willis, Hinds

Punter – Will Scott, Gulf Coast

Placekicker – Kevin Buford, Northwest

Return Specialist – Harry Peoples, Holmes

Region 23 MVP – Melvin German, Pearl River



DL – Ryan Robinson, Jones; Jamontay Pilson, Northwest; John Jenkins, Gulf Coast; Quinton Dial, East Mississippi

LB – Sam Small, Northwest; Chris Ficklin, East Central; Jordan Hunt, Co-Lin

DB – Wesley Pendleton, Co-Lin; Darius Slay, Itawamba; Brandon Lawrence, Northwest; J.D. Ratliff, Southwest


More News