JCJC All-State Academic Representatives Selected

Written By: Teresa Martin
Email Address: teresa.martin@jcjc.edu
Date Submitted: 2010-11-02 10:21:24

ELLISVILLE – Twelve Jones County Junior College sophomores were recently nominated for Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society’s All-State Academic honors. These students were selected because they maintained a 3.5 to 4.0 GPA, have taken challenging academic courses, have completed a minimum of 36 hours, are busy serving the community and college in various ways and did well in an interview with the scholarship committee. 

Nominees were Justin Sumrall, a history/pre-law major from Laurel; Daniel Rose, a mechanical engineer major from Laurel; Abby Lee, an elementary education major from Enterprise; Carolee Grissom, an elementary education major from Taylorsville; Brittany Keyes, a public relations major from Laurel; Brianna Mills, a pharmacy major from Waynesboro; Kelsey Hennis, a pharmacy major from Waynesboro; Sara Jane Thaxton, an early childhood education major from Laurel; Olivia Ellis, a math major from Moselle; Michael Grayson, a biology major from Raleigh; Karen Lott, a political science major from Leakesville and Lindsay Ishee, a nursing major from Laurel. Lott and Sumrall were chosen from the twelve to go on to compete for state titles.

VP of Institutional Affairs and Assessment, Dr. Laverne Ulmer shared, “This was not an easy process trying to choose two out of the twelve students to represent Jones in competition. I am proud of all the nominees, and I wish everyone the best in their future endeavors.”
Lott is a member of the Bobcat Students Read Book Club, an Honors College student, the PTK Director of College Projects, a tutor for the Student Success Center, and she works in the president’s office while maintaining a 4.0 GPA. Sumrall is the PTK president, an Honors College student, Jones Ambassador and also has a perfect GPA.

Both Lott and Sumrall expressed gratitude for the opportunity. However, both said they feel a little more pressure to excel because 2010 JCJC graduate from Laurel, Kraig Simpson had the highest score in the state last year and he was awarded the prestigious honor as being a New Century Scholar. 

“It’s good that Kraig won because it shows us it is achievable,” said Lott. “However, it puts some pressure on us because we want to represent Jones just as well.”
Sumrall and Simpson worked together last spring on a tutoring project for West Jones Elementary school. He said he will be contacting Simpson to get some tips on how to prepare for the next level of competition. 

“It is an honor to be asked to represent Jones in the All-State Academic competition,” said Sumrall. “To be chosen from this group means a lot because I work with most of these students on various projects and they are all deserving. I will be getting some advice from Kraig and maybe we can do just as well.”

Lott and Sumrall will be honored next spring in Jackson upon the conclusion of the competition. JCJC president, Dr. Jesse Smith expressed to the nominees, “I am proud of you. I know all of you will be a success and PTK will open many doors for you.”

The USA Today Academic Team program annually recognizes 60 outstanding two-year college students. First, Second, and Third Teams, each consisting of 20 members, are selected from the nominees. The 20 First Team members receive stipends of $2,500 each. All 60 members of the All- USA Academic Team and their colleges receive extensive national recognition through coverage in USA TODAY.


More News