JCJC’s McGowen accepted into Rural Physician Scholarship Program

Written By: Teresa McCreery-Dan Coleman Contributed
Email Address: teresa.mccreery@jcjc.edu
Date Submitted: 2018-06-27 19:34:03

ELLISVILLE – The long list of honors and awards just got longer for recent Jones County Junior College graduate, Katelynn McGowen. The Moselle native and daughter of Hugh and Robin McGowen officially learned she was selected to participate in the undergraduate portion of the Mississippi Rural Physicians Scholarship Program (MRPSP). This program provides a way for rural Mississippi students to earn a seat in medical school, receive mentoring during the medical school application process and earn a $120,000 medical school scholarship in return for four years of service while learning the art of healing from practicing rural physicians. The biological sciences/pre-medicine major has a long-term goal of working in the pediatric field. She said being a part of the MRPSP has been a dream that she has worked long and hard to accomplish.

“I am grateful to be accepted into the Mississippi Rural Physicians Scholarship Program because I have always wanted to enter the medical field since I was about seven years old,” said McGowen. “The program is a huge blessing in helping to pave my route to medical school while offering guidance, scholarships, and a medical family that will always be by my side. I am excited to see where the MRPSP journey takes me!” 

In the fall, McGowen will be a junior at the University of Mississippi as one of 15 students named a prestigious Lyceum Scholar. At Jones, she was a member of the Charles Pickering Honors Institute, Phi Theta Kappa honor society where she served as the VP of Leadership and Service, and she was selected as a New Century Pathway Scholar. Other honors she has earned include JCJC’s Who’s Who, Hall of Fame and Letter “J” Awards, the Presidential Scholarship and she was a member of the JCJC Student Government Association, Baptist Student Union, Sigma Kappa Delta English Honors Society, and the College Republicans Club. McGowen was the Maroon Typhoon Lead Drum Major both years, additionally, she served as Ellisville’s 2016 Miss Hospitality, and she currently volunteers with the Hattiesburg Elks Lodge and in the Emergency room at Forrest General Hospital.

“I am so thankful for my professors, my academics, and the endless opportunities Jones County Junior College offered me. I have made many connections by being involved on and off campus, and I pray to always inspire greatness in other people’s lives,” McGowen said.

Created in 2007, MRPSP identifies college sophomores and juniors who demonstrate the necessary commitment and academic achievement to become competent, well-trained rural primary care physicians in Mississippi. The program offers undergraduate academic enrichment and a clinical experience in a rural setting. Upon completion of all medical school admissions requirements, the student can be admitted to the University of Mississippi School of Medicine or William Carey University College of Osteopathic Medicine.  
During medical school, each MRPSP scholar may receive $30,000 per year based on available funding. Consistent legislative support of MRPSP translates to 60 medical students receiving a total of $1,800,000 to support their education this fall. Additional benefits include personalized mentoring from practicing rural physicians and academic support. 
Upon completion of medical training, MRPSP Scholars must enter a residency program in one of five primary care specialties: family medicine, general internal medicine, medicine-pediatrics, obstetrics/gynecology or pediatrics. The MRPSP Scholar must provide four years of service in a clinic-based practice in an approved Mississippi community of 15,000 or less, located more than 20 miles from a medically served area.
The Mississippi Rural Physicians Scholarship Program and the Mississippi Rural Dentists Scholarship Program are state-funded efforts to increase the number of dentists and physicians serving the health-care needs of Mississippians in rural areas. Housed at the University of Mississippi Medical Center in Jackson, and collaborating with its schools of medicine and dentistry and the College of Osteopathic Medicine at William Carey University in Hattiesburg, the programs use various outreach, mentoring and training methods to identify, support, educate and deploy new generations of health-care workers for Mississippi’s underserved populations. (To learn more about either program, click here) 


More News