JCJC hosts MS Community College Creative Writing Association’s workshop and awards ceremony

Written By: Teresa McCreery
Email Address: teresa.mccreery@jcjc.edu
Date Submitted: 2018-04-16 21:58:25

ELLISVILLE – Mississippi’s Community College’s best student writers had the opportunity to compete for cash prizes in five-creative writing categories through the Mississippi Community College Creative Writing Association. Almost 90 stories were submitted for judging in Short Fiction, Poetry, Dramatic Fiction, Literary Essay and Creative Nonfiction categories. The twenty-five award winners were recently announced at the annual workshop and meeting on the campus of Jones County Junior College. Part of the one-day workshop included the opportunity for faculty and students to hear writing tips and insight from the judges of the competition who are accomplished authors.
“The writing contest offers a unique opportunity for community and junior college students from across Mississippi to submit original works that are judged by professional writers and be rewarded with recognition and advice. By working with students and encouraging writing, the Mississippi Community College Creative Writing Association seeks to foster and promote the legacy of literary success that so many Mississippi writers have enjoyed and continue to enjoy today,” said President of the MCCCWA, Tim Morris.
The speakers and judges included William Carey University adjunct English instructor, yearbook advisor and the administrative assistant for the WCU department of Theater and Communication, Jeanna Graves-Creative Nonfiction; Author, Linda Williams Jackson of Southaven-Short Fiction; Actor, director, writer, teacher and assistant professor of theatre performance at Mississippi State University, Tim Matheny-Dramatic Writing; Hattiesburg native, author, researcher, and member of the Mississippi Artist Roster, Benjamin Morris-Poetry and William Carey University associate professor of English, researcher, editor and author, Lorie Watkins-Literary Essay.
First place winners received $100, with second place winners receiving $60, and third place winners receiving $40. Additionally, all winning submissions were compiled into a literary magazine.
Student winners in the short fiction category: First Place “Memoirs from the Moon” - Hannah Butler, Northeast Mississippi Community College. Second Place “Worn Blue Collar” - Ethan Burton, Holmes Community College, Goodman. Third Place “Radio Station 94.2” - Darian Cooley, Jones County Junior College. Honorable Mention winners are: “To Happiness” - Mackenzie Thornell, Northwest Community College, Senatobia and “Bad Habits Die Hard” - Anna Wood, East Mississippi Community College.
Student winners in the poetry category: First Place “Acadiana Roots” - Codi Goulas, Holmes Community College, Ridgeland. Second Place “Forgiveness” -Madison Brewer, Holmes Community College, Grenada. Third Place “Family” - Kiya Alvarado, Holmes Community College, Goodman. Honorable Mention winners are: “Lady Chrysalis” - Ashley Regan, Holmes Community College, Ridgeland and “Thief of Innocence” - Courtney Rose Wheat, Northeast Mississippi Community College.
Dramatic Fiction winners are: First Place, The Note - Telexus Miller, Itawamba Community College. Second Place, Fish - Elizabeth Howell, Holmes Community College, Goodman. Third Place, Sherlock Holmes and the Loaded Gun - Hannah Butler and Barry Strickland, Northeast Mississippi Community College. Honorable Mention winners are: Wolf’s Den- Morgan Campbell, Pearl River Community College, Poplarville and Two Paths - Benjamin Wilkes, Holmes Community College, Grenada.
Literary Essay winners are: First Place, “Literacy as a Tool to Freedom in the Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass” - Brian M. Jones, II, Holmes Community College, Ridgeland. Second Place, “Henrik Ibsen’s Hedda Gabler: Three Women, One Problem” -Sara Goss, Holmes Community College, Grenada. Third Place, “‘Sin’bolism” - Sloan Wallis, Itawamba Community College. Honorable Mention winners are “Biblical Sonnets of Spenser” - Sara Tomlinson, Northeast Mississippi Community College and “The Constant of Change” - Emilee Wilcox, East Mississippi Community College.
Student winners in the creative nonfiction category: First Place, “The Day I Lost Hope” - Tierra Hood, Itawamba Community College. Second Place, “Remembrance” Samantha Jordan Banks, Holmes Community College, Ridgeland. Third Place, “The Nameless Game” – M. Kennedy, Holmes Community College, Grenada. Honorable Mention winners are: “Vast Carelessness” - Rebecca Holifield, Jones County Junior College and “The Good People” - Shunta Rivers, Holmes Community College, Grenada. 


More News