JCJC Student Government Association officers are ready to serve

Written By: Teresa McCreery
Email Address: teresa.mccreery@jcjc.edu
Date Submitted: 2017-10-27 16:18:28

ELLISVILLE –Students at Jones County Junior College recentlyelected their class and senator representatives as part of the Student Government Association. Sophomore Alex Hickson of Taylorsville was elected as SGA President.  The international business major said she is enthusiastic about this year because everyone is excited about serving their peers and they are actively involved in planning campus events and improvements.
“We see the potential and what Jones can be and we know what it will take to get us there.  We truly want to live up to our motto, ‘Leave Jones better than you found it,’” said Hickson. 
Working alongside her is nursing major, Hannah Burks from Oak Grove as Vice President. Business major from Mt Olive, Kaylee Lack is Secretary/Treasurer. Business major and Sophomore Class President is Stone County’s Beth Owen, and the Freshmen Class President is engineering major, Jared Woullard from Greene County.
In addition to the officers and the class presidents, the SGA added campus senators several years ago to ensure better campus representation.  These elected officials represent students in each residence hall, academic, and career and technical divisions, as well as student-athletes. The student body elected student representatives including, Colton Shows as the Smith Hall Senator. He is an accounting major and graduate of Pearl River Central High School. Daniel Easley is the Senator for the Science Division and he is a graduate of Northeast Jones High School, majoring in biological studies-zoology. Tyler Rouse is the Senator for Smith Hall. The George County resident is majoring in business. Zach Dale is the Covington Hall Senator from Greene County. He is majoring in business. Landon Williams is the Senator for Clarke Hall. The computer programming major is a graduate of Wayne Academy.  Ericka Ingram is the Anderson Hall Senator from Mt Olive and she is majoring in healthcare information management. Jennah Eddins is the Senator for Wayne Hall, majoring in communications and he is a graduate of South Jones High School. Hannah Hogan is the Senator-at-Large from Purvis. She is majoring in fashion merchandising. Matthew Sexton is the Senator representing the Math Division. He is a mechanical engineering major from Laurel. Senator Makayla Puckett represents the Humanities Division. She is a journalism major from George County. Katie Nabors is the Senator for the Business Division and she is an accounting major from Vancleave. Agriculture business major and Senator, Elaine McClellan represents the Life Sciences Division and she is a graduate of Laurel Christian High School. Caroline Runion is the Senator representing Athletics. The biomedical engineering major is a native of Madison and is currently living in Zachary, LA.  Laurel Christian High School graduate and kinesiology major, Katelyn Regan is responsible for all SGA signage and advertising.  JCJC Campus Life Coordinator, Sonya Dykes is the advisor for the Student Government Association. 


More News