JCJC alumnus and MSU professor Elected to PRSA College of Fellows

Written By: Kristie Aylett, APR, 228-229-9472 Public Relations Association of Mississippi-Beach Chapter
Email Address: teresa.martin@jcjc.edu
Date Submitted: 2010-09-14 10:13:06

STARKVILLE, Miss., Aug. 11, 2010 – Dr. John E. Forde, APR, Fellow PRSA, associate professor and head of the department of communication at Mississippi State University, and Jones County Junior College alumnus, has been elected to the prestigious College of Fellows of the Public Relations Society of America.  He becomes the first Fellow among the 600 members of the Public Relations Association of Mississippi (PRAM), a statewide professional society for public relations practitioners.
A member of the PRAM Starkville/Mississippi State Chapter and its founding president in 1992, Forde served as president of the statewide PRAM organization in 1992 and 1993. He also served as president of the PRAM Golden Triangle Chapter in Columbus in 1991 and coordinated efforts over several years to charter PRAM chapters in Gulfport, Hattiesburg, Meridian and Tupelo. In 1992, he received PRAM’s highest individual honor, the Practitioner of the Year.
He continues to serve in leadership positions for PRAM and the Southern Public Relations Federation (SPRF). He represents SPRF on the national Universal Accreditation Board, which oversees the Accredited in Public Relations, or APR, credentialing process. He is currently co-chairing the UAB Examination and Preparation Work Group. He served as SPRF president in 1997 and received SPRF’s Professional Achievement Award in 1999, the organization’s highest individual honor.
Forde also reactivated the MSU Chapter of the Public Relations Student Society in 2001, one of only two PRSSA chapters in the state. He continues to co-advise the group.
The 2010 Fellows candidates will be inducted Oct. 16 during a formal ceremony at the PRSA 2010 International Conference in Washington, D.C. A full list of 2010 inductees is available at http://media.prsa.org/article_display.cfm?article_id=1726.
“One of the great duties of the PRSA chair and CEO is to welcome the 2010 inductees into the College of Fellows,” said Gary D. McCormick, APR, Fellow PRSA. “This class represents many of our most dedicated members — leaders and volunteers who have proven their commitment to advancing PRSA and the profession.”
The College of Fellows was founded in 1990 as a way to recognize individuals who have demonstrated superior capabilities as public relations practitioners or educators. According to the PRSA Bylaws, College of Fellows candidates must have 20 years or more of experience in the public relations industry and exhibit exceptional personal and professional qualities, while advancing the state of the profession and communities. This year’s candidates are senior practitioners and educators who have shown strong dedication and made significant contributions to the field of public relations. Fewer than 2 percent of the 22,000 PRSA members hold College of Fellows status. In addition to the honor, members are expected to actively participate in mentoring, education, and selection activities of the college.
“Induction into the PRSA College of Fellows is one of the highest individual honors in our profession,” said Judy Phair, APR, Fellow PRSA, and 2010 College of Fellows chair. “We are proud to welcome these talented men and women into the College — through their accomplishments, they have left a footprint on their profession, their organizations, their communities and PRSA.”
“I am extremely honored and humbled by my selection into the College of Fellows. The support I have received from colleagues across the country has been phenomenal,” Forde said. “The public relations profession has the opportunity to positively impact all aspects of society daily, and I am eager to continue learning from other practitioners.”
Forde earned a doctorate in communication (minor in educational administration) from the University of Southern Mississippi, a master’s degree in public relations (minor in marketing) from USM, a bachelor’s degree from MSU in communication with a public relations concentration, and an associate degree from Jones County Junior College (’81). He is a graduate of Omak High School in Washington state.
Forde and his wife, Connie, have been faculty members at MSU since 1987. He has been department head since 2004, working currently with over 500 majors and 27 faculty. The Fordes have two sons, John David and Daniel, who are MSU students. John is the son of Anne and Dr. Randolph Strickland of Ellisville, Miss. who have both retired from JCJC.
The Public Relations Association of Mississippi (pramonline.org) is composed of 10 local chapters geographically located throughout the state’s major population centers. There are approximately 600 members from advertising and public relations agencies, corporations, non-profit organizations, government, education, industries and others. PRAM provides numerous professional development opportunities to its members and is a state affiliate organization of the Southern Public Relations Federation.
The Southern Public Relations Federation includes approximately 1,300 public relations and communications professionals in the Southeast. Four member organizations — PRAM, Emerald Coast Public Relations Organization, Public Relations Association of Louisiana and Public Relations Council of Alabama — comprise the federation. For more information, visit www.sprf.org.
# # #


More News