JCJC PTK officers earn international award among many honors

Written By: Teresa McCreery
Email Address: teresa.mccreery@jcjc.edu
Date Submitted: 2014-05-13 12:03:24

ELLISVILLE – Jones County Junior College’s Rho Sigma chapter officers of the academic international Honor Society, Phi Theta Kappa have earned an international award last month: Top 30 Distinguished Chapter OfficerTeam.  This falls on the heels of several national, regional and state awards bestowed on the officers and individuals of the JCJC chapter of PTK.
The International-Top 30 Distinguished Chapter Officer Team award is based on the team’s demonstration of an exceptional atmosphere of teamwork, leadership abilities, promotion of the Honors in Action project, other engagement in PTK and enthusiasm for the Hallmarks of the Society (Scholarship, Leadership, Service and Fellowship). According to JCJC’s PTK adviser, Gwen Magee, they were selected by a panel of judges from more than 200 nominees internationally.
“This group has worked hard hosting a regional conference on top of  working on an Honors in Action project and submitting numerous reports and essays throughout the year to volunteering hours on the Habitat for Humanity House and establishing a new service organization on campus.  I’m very proud of this honor for these very deserving officers,” said Magee.
The officers were also recognized at the Regional PTK Conference as a Most Distinguished Officer Team for their leadership role in planning and implementing the Honors in Action project and chapter development activities.  The group was also awarded the Top 10 College Project Award at the Regional PTK Conference for creation of the service organization, Officium.
“I am proud of the hard work we have all accomplished through being a part of Rho Sigma’s officer team,” said Ellisville native, Kaylie Bradshaw, who served as the Director of Honors in Action project. 
Director of Chapter Meetings and Coordinator of Service, Kristen Hallman of Raleigh added, “This award is a reflection of the hard work and dedication of our chapter, advisors and the entire institution.  I truly feel that Rho Sigma and JCJC have shown me what it takes to be great!”
Individually, sophomore PTK officer, Hannah Pruitt was awarded the Order of the Golden Key at the Regional Conference.  She was chosen by her fellow officers for her exceptional work as Director of Project Submission and as a student, including her HEADWAE honor as the JCJC student representative.
“We’ve achieved accomplishments that we would not have acquired without the support of the Phi Theta Kappa organization,” said Pruitt.
PTK chapter president, Patrick Campbell of Collins further said, “Through PTK, my fellow officers and I have been given the skillset needed to make a positive impact in our community.”
Sophomore PTK member, Karie Mooney was selected to the All-Mississippi Academic Second Team and she was also awarded as a Coca-Cola Bronze Scholar. The Seminary native said she learned the best way to lead is to serve.  As a volunteer for the American Cancer Society and Camp Rainbow for kids with cancer, the BSU community mission’s director, public relations major and cancer survivor, has been serving most of her life.
“(Serving) is exemplified in Jesus Christ, who chose to serve instead of being served….The time we serve others and the investment we make in our community will leave more of a legacy than mere money can do.  I am very thankful and blessed to have been a part of PTK while here at Jones and have had many opportunities to serve,” said Mooney.
Sophomore Zack Warren from Ellisville earned the Best Website Award at the Regional Conference however his national honors have given him a new perspective on his future.  As Mississippi’s All-Mississippi Academic First Team Member anda New Century Scholar for being the top scorer in an essay competition, Warren was selected for a national honor as well. The history major was chosen as one of only twenty students for the All-USA Team.  He earned a $2,500 scholarship for that honor along with a $1,000 scholarship and a $2,000 scholarship for the individual state awards.
“PTK has given me a passion and a purpose that was previously unrealized.  I am truly grateful for this fantastic opportunity and to the challenges and obstacles that we are now fully prepared to face,” said Warren.
JCJC’s PTK officers recognized for the group accomplishment’s at the International Conference in Orlando, Fla., and at the Regional Conferences include: Secretary, Tera Busby of Clara; Director of Campus Activities, Skylar Dailey of Buckatunna; Director of College Project and Information Technology, Zack Warren of Ellisville; Director of Project Submission, Hannah Pruitt of Ellisville; Regional President, Lewis Bateman of Laurel; Director of Honors in Action, Kaylie Bradshaw of Ellisville; Chapter President, Patrick Campbell of Collins and Director of Chapter Meetings and Coordinator of Service, Kristen Hallman of Raleigh along with sponsors, Julie Atwood and Gwen Magee.


More News