JCJC PTK students earn top PTK honors

Written By: Teresa McCreery
Email Address: teresa.mccreery@jcjc.edu
Date Submitted: 2014-04-02 14:45:17

ELLISVILLE – The International Honor Society, Phi Theta Kappa recognized Jones County Junior College’s Rho Sigma chapter with several top honors during the Mississippi-Louisiana Regional Conference held at JCJC.   Honors bestowed upon the JCJC chapter included the “Most Distinguished Officers” award for their leadership role in planning and implementing the Honors in Action project and chapter development activities. The JCJC chapter received the “Top 10 College Project Award” with the creation of the service organization, Officium. 
“We as officers are truly honored by these awards because it means we have been recognized as a model for our 4 Hallmarks, scholarship, leadership, fellowship and service,” said PTK Regional President, Lewis Bateman of Laurel. The JCJC sophomore added, “It means so much to be recognized as a chapter. We’ve been through a lot together and have worked many hours to achieve this honor. Our leadership skills have soared higher than we ever thought possible with the help of PTK, and our PTK sponsors, Gwen Magee and Julie Atwood.”
One of the projects the Officium group coordinated was the building of a Habitat for Humanity house in Petal this semester. Students from various programs like JCJC horticulture, electrical construction, men’s housing, culinary arts and PTK, participated in various phases of the construction and awarding of the house to its owners.
“I’m proud to be a part of a project that will mean so much to a family in need,” said Bateman. “This is just one way we can give back to our community and a little manual labor for a good cause is a good thing for anyone. It builds character.”
Individually, Hannah Pruitt of Ellisville, Director of Project Submissions for the PTK chapter was selected by her peers to receive the “Order of the Golden Key” for being an exceptional officer and student. 
“This is very important to me because my peers voted on this honor,” said Pruitt, who was also named as JCJC’s HEADWAE student. “We’ve all developed over the year as we coordinated events in a short amount of time and developed together as a great group of leaders.”
Zack Warren of Ellisville is the group’s Director of the College Project and Information Technology. His work on the PTK chapter’s website earned him the “Best Website” award.  The history major works in the JCJC IT department and was selected for the All-Mississippi Academic First Team and New Century Scholar. 
“When updating the website, I created what I thought students would want and need, like interactive features, maps, calendars, links to scholarships and other PTK resources, as well as college campus events and meetings,” said Warren.
Judges said the JCJC PTK website was the best student-designed web page because of its interactive features, which can be found at www.jcjcrhosigma.com.
“The honors speak for themselves,” PTK sponsor, Gwen Magee said of this exceptional group of PTK officers. “Every officer was versatile, available and helped in every way possible to accomplish some big goals this year.”
Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, Rho Sigma chapter at JCJC, hosted the annual Mississippi-Louisiana Regional Conference with 250 students from 27 chapters. Regional president and JCJC sophomore, Lewis Bateman of Laurel presided over the first-ever conference held at Jones. 


More News